Home > Uncategorized > The Greens’ Soft, Beautiful, Unblemished Hands #vicvotes

The Greens’ Soft, Beautiful, Unblemished Hands #vicvotes

November 15, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

It is nice that the Green Party supports my right to marry my same-sex partner at some future point when the notion doesn’t cause my boyfriend to guffaw and change the subject.

It really is sweet of them.

In fact, I am so appreciative of the enthusiastic support of the Victorian Greens for my rights, I want to shake their hands.

Their soft, beautiful, unblemished hands.

But, while no gay man is immune to the seductive qualities of a nice pair of hands, I find myself resisting.

The social justice mantle is not won simply by claiming it.

Is Labor good enough, decisive enough, or quick-off-the-mark enough, when it comes to gay rights?  No, they are not.

But Labor has a earned a century’s worth of scars from the long, relentless and never-fashionable struggle to extend rights and freedoms where none would otherwise exist.

And that’s not nothing.

That’s why, when I cast my big gay vote, I will reach out for callous-hardened Labor hands.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. November 17, 2010 at 11:42

    Excellent post, accurate for New Zealand as well.
    Now who in the current Labour Party has calloused hands?

    Cheers, James

  2. November 19, 2010 at 19:43

    Great post. Excuse me while I go an moisturise. ūüôā

  3. November 22, 2010 at 18:15

    Kudos to Labor for all they’ve done, just like kudos to the Libs for the good they’ve done. But you can’t just dis the Greens because they’re a relatively new party. That’s all you’ve got.

    Simply put, they’re the only large party currently supporting same-sex marriage. When the others come along it will only be because of the Greens’ pressure. They deserve more kudos man.

    PS. I volunteer for the Greens.

  4. Jason
    November 22, 2010 at 22:05

    Would parliament currently be debating gay marriage if it weren’t for Adam Bandt being elected into the lower house?

    No.

    I’m voting Greens.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

