Home > Uncategorized > Leaked Speech Excerpt: Ted Baillieu Will Evoke Menzies in Election Pitch #vicvotes

Leaked Speech Excerpt: Ted Baillieu Will Evoke Menzies in Election Pitch #vicvotes

November 13, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

This excerpt from Ted Baillieu’s launch speech (to be delivered this morning) found its way into my inbox.  Interesting.

My friends

We stand at an historic moment.

And the Victorian Liberal Party is on the cusp of a momentous victory.

Robert Menzies once said:

“What politics has taught me is this:  if you can keep your colleagues from shafting you for long enough, media impatience with long-serving governments may eventually allow you to sneak into power even without a coherent policy platform or any means to pay for it.”

Well, if Sir Robert were standing here today, I would look him in the eye and say:

I have kept my colleagues from shafting me! (Pause for applause)

The media is impatient with this long serving government! (Pause)

Our policy plan is utterly uncosted and completely incoherent. (Pause)

And so, Sir Robert, your inspiration leads me to believe with total conviction that we — and, by that I mean I….

(Thump lectern for effect, mist-up)

can and will sneak into power on November 27th!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

